St. Joseph’s Hospital Foundation was established in 1980. Led by President J. Gordon McMillen, the first Board of Directors began a legacy that would eventually enable the Foundation to put -forth millions of dollars to support health care needs of our community with a focus on the needs of seniors and the terminally ill.

St. Joseph’s Hospital Foundation founding members were: J. Gordon McMillen, President; R. Bruce Thorpe, Vice-President; W. B. Gillespie, Treasurer; Sister Anne Anderson, Secretary; Ted Decoteau; Clark Gothard; Sister Regis McLaughlin; John Czarny; Sister Joan McLoughlin; Martin (Rocky) Rocheleau; Robert Terry; and R. L. Verity.

When the Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care decided to close St. Joseph’s Hospital in 2001, the Foundation made a courageous decision to continue the work of the Sisters of St. Joseph by funding unmet health care needs in the community under a new name and mandate. This led to the creation of the present St. Joseph's Lifecare Foundation.

St. Joseph's Lifecare Foundation is dedicated to funding the delivery of quality, compassionate Long-Term Care and Hospice Care, with dignity and respect in the St. Joseph’s tradition.